top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKissy Rakhlin

Day 4 (I am now a mix of Usain Bolt and Marie Kondo)

Happy Sunday! Or Saturday. Friday? Monday? Oh who cares- it's one of seven days of the week and from now on that's just about all I'll be aware of. In case you were just itching to see yet another picture of random kids' schedules during this time, scroll on down to see ours. Today went surprisingly well, which makes sense since kids love and thrive on routines. Zoey must have checked the schedule at least 20 times today, constantly making sure we were staying on track and doing what I had written out for us. They did a lot of drawing, painting, writing, reading, outside playing, outside yard clean up, not too much screen time, and obviously eating. But the best thing about the schedule is that there are specific times for their 3 meals and 2 snacks so it's not just a free for all like it usually is on weekends. Speaking of weekends, I keep thinking how once this is all over, weekends will be a piece of cake! Normally on a Friday night we'll look at each other and say "Okay, here comes 48 hours of unstructured time- what should we do?!" But after this, we'll be like "Phew- it's only two days- that's nothing!"

I've also already accomplished in 4 days more things around the house than I've tackled in 4 MONTHS. Cleaning out the pantry, reorganizing the playroom, moving some furniture around, making schedules for designated eating times so they don't live like grazing cows, filling up bags with clothes to donate. When all you've got is time and having young kids prevents you from being able to sit and watch TV or read a book for any amount of time all day, you've got to keep busy around the house. If this organizing and fixing and cleaning streak continues I'll be able to write my own book about the life changing magic of tidying up. I'm coming for you Marie Condo. All it took was a worldwide pandemic to kick my ass into gear, but I'm there. It's not about the destination, it's about the journey damn it.

Another odd thing that happened today was after I finished the prescribed CrossFit workout plus a little extra exercise in my backyard, I didn't feel quite "done" yet and so I grabbed my AirPods and went for a run in the field. I can't stress enough how out of character that is for me. Give me burpees, the bike, or the rower any day, but running has always been my arch nemesis. Not only did I go for the run, I absolutely loved it. For the first time I understood what people mean when they say they zone out during a run. Usually it's very different for me. Usually all I can think about is how hard it is to breathe and how a turtle with ankle weights on could easily pass me. But today it was seriously blissful. It was as if I put all my nervous energy off to the side, took a deep breath and just started flying. Also, before you start congratulating me, I think it was a mile and I think it was 9 minutes. But let me have my moment please. Also, FINE. They aren't actually AirPods, but they work just as well and they were a lot less expensive. I hope you all are surviving and staying healthy, and I hope to see you here again tomorrow- Friday! Right??



67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Uvalde

When our kids were 2 and 3, we took them on vacation to Fort Lauderdale. On our first day there, they woke up before the sun and we went straight to the beach. They played in the sand for a while and

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page