top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKissy Rakhlin

Jerseys and Tutus

One of the more fascinating parts of parenthood (and there are many) is when your kid is doing something that is so frustrating to you and then you realize one day that whatever this is, it comes directly from you. For the past few months, Josh has insisted on wearing the same outfit every single day. This "uniform" consists of a Football or Rugby jersey (of which he has three total, so you do the math on how many repeat wears those shirts are getting), black leggings with basketball shorts over them, and his go-to Nike sneakers. I think this all started when he noticed that both his 8-year-old cousin and an 8-year-old neighbor, both whom he idolizes, were wearing this outfit pretty often. At first it was cute- a preschooler wanting to be like the big, cool 3rd graders. But now we've all had just about enough. Even Zoey, who quite frankly has her own first grade fashion issues to deal with, asks him every morning if she can pick out an outfit for him because she "can't see you in those leggings for one more second!" Every time any of us asks him to wear one of the 50 adorable cotton t-shirts he has that my mother-in-law sends him, or sweatpants, or jeans or anything besides his leggings and shorts and jerseys, he replies with "Why won't you just let me be me!" I've even contemplated getting rid of all his leggings and jerseys while he's at school, but then I remembered that I'm not a monster. And then one day it hit me. All the times my parents have told the story over the years that always make everyone laugh. The one about their 3 year old daughter, who for two straight years would not take off her white leotard with matching white tutu- who would wear it day in and day out- who threw a fit when she had to take it off for a bath- who was so obsessed with it that when she hit Kindergarten and the tutu no longer fit around her waist would then wear it around her head instead. That little stubborn kid was me. I was Josh. But instead of a sports jersey, leggings and shorts, for me it was a white satin leotard and big matching tutu. And this wasn't your run of the mill leotard and tutu, by the way- this pristine white satin leotard was covered in sequins, the tutu was made of real tulle, lined with silver satin trim and it was the most beautiful thing I had ever laid eyes on. So I guess that must be how Josh feels about his beloved "cool sports outfit", and therefore- who am I to judge?


45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Uvalde

When our kids were 2 and 3, we took them on vacation to Fort Lauderdale. On our first day there, they woke up before the sun and we went straight to the beach. They played in the sand for a while and

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page