top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKissy Rakhlin

New Years Resolutions and The Tooth Fairy

Welcome to my blog! I've always loved to write and have often dreamed of writing a book. As a Creative Writing major in College, I sort of thought one day an idea would just pop into my head like J.K. Rowling's did on her fateful train ride and the next thing you know I'd be rich and able to support my Husband and children. Unfortunately that hasn't happened yet, so while my Husband continues to bring home the bacon (literally- pounds of it. My son has an addiction), I've decided to put all the random stories that occur on a daily basis onto my own personal blog. I hope you find the stories here honest, refreshing, and most importantly FUNNY.


Tomorrow marks 8 weeks since January 1st, the day I decided to break free of social media. No more scrolling mindlessly on Instagram before bed, upon waking up, and at every red light. Yes, it was that bad. While I'm sure no one is missing the thousands of pictures I used to post of my kids every day, I've had a few friends tell me they miss my stories on instagram, so that is what I'll try to recreate here.


My first story on this blog has to do with my son, and his first loose tooth. Josh is 5 years old and has had a loose tooth for about a month. He has begged everyone he knows to pull it out, from his sister to my Crossfit Coach. He just couldn't wait. Yesterday, I had my sisters and their kids over for a play date after school. My sisters and I all had our kids around the same time, so we have 6 kids between us who are currently between the ages of 4 and 8. They are obsessed with each other and we are obsessed with their obsession. We're also very lucky to all live within a 10 mile radius, so we can all get together often. At the end of the play date, Josh asked both of his Aunt's if either of them would pull out his tooth. My 8 year old nephew was so excited and encouraging, and Josh wants nothing more than to impress his big cousin. So he bravely opened his mouth and my sister Sara bravely shoved her hand in his mouth and yanked the tooth out. All of the kids started shouting and cheering, and Josh was absolutely beaming. After they all left, we talked about how special both of our kids' first lost tooth experiences were. For our 6 year old daughter Zoey, she lost hers the day before she turned 6 while we were at an alumni event for my Husband at Amherst College, right in front of the dorm he lived in freshman year. And Josh got to lose his with all his cousins clapping for him.

Before bed, I sat down next to Josh on the couch and put his tooth on a tissue next to me. A few minutes had passed when I realized my Husband was sitting right next to me. I whispered in his ear that he might be sitting on Josh's tooth, but when he stood up he remembered that he thought the tissue was trash and so he had thrown it away. Cool. I spent the next 20 minutes going through the kitchen trash, wishing I could blame this situation on my Husband but deep down knowing he was just throwing away what looked like trash while I was the one who put a tooth the size of cookie crumb on a tissue on the couch. I finally gave up searching the trash and remembered that I am disgusting and have kept all of Zoey's teeth in a bag in my nightstand (she's lost 5 so far). I casually went upstairs, found a tooth that resembled his, came back down and told him that I found his in my pocket. He hadn't even been too concerned; he told us the Tooth Fairy doesn't need the tooth anyway, but that he wanted to leave something for her since she was going to be leaving something special for him. Because that's how this sweet boy thinks.

Fast forward 20 more minutes and I'm sitting on Zoey's bed waiting for them to come back from brushing their teeth. They walk in holding a plastic bag and Zoey says, "Mommy- why was there a bag of teeth on your nightstand? Are you the Tooth Fairy?" Cool. So, internally I was cursing like a sailor, but externally I was playing it cool. "What are you talking about?" I said. "Those are tiny little marbles I've had since I was a kid. They're really special to me so can I please have them back?" They immediately nodded their heads and said something along the lines of "Oh that makes sense, sorry about that" while I wondered if my kids were morons or if it's true that everyone just believes what they want to believe. They wanted so badly to believe there's a real Tooth Fairy that they just ignored the fact that THEY FOUND A BAG OF BABY TEETH on my nightstand.


Josh then decided that the reason Zoey has been receiving 50 cent coins from the Tooth Fairy is because the box she uses to put the tooth in under her pillow is too small for any bills, so he designed a frame for the Tooth Fairy to be able to fit a dollar bill into. Sorry, but that's genius. He also built a little helicopter out of his blocks when he heard she is tiny and flies and thought she might be tired in the middle of the night. He woke up this morning thrilled with his dollar bill, Zoey woke up thrilled for him even though she has never received more than 50 cents at a time from the Tooth Fairy, and as usual my Husband and I were left wondering how we got so lucky with these two.




144 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Uvalde

When our kids were 2 and 3, we took them on vacation to Fort Lauderdale. On our first day there, they woke up before the sun and we went straight to the beach. They played in the sand for a while and

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page