top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKissy Rakhlin

Quarantine Brain

Remember those old commercials showing a cracked egg saying "This is your brain on crack"? Well the next few paragraphs are the thoughts from my brain, which is a brain on quarantine.

Today it was announced that schools will not reopen before May 4. Today is March 25. But it's fine, I'm fine. Each day is approximately 72 hours long, it's been freezing, raining or snowing all week, and I constantly feel like I'm failing as a Mom, a Teacher, a Chef, a Nurse, and a Wife, but I'm fine. We're all losing our minds but we'll all be fine. A lot of people on Instagram or in Facebook Moms Groups like to yell at people to Stay the F#&@ Home. I'm not really in that camp, though. I'm staying home. The farthest I've gone from my home in almost two weeks is a walk around the neighborhood or a workout at the field next to my house (which is now closed). I'm doing my best to do my part, but I just don't feel the need to yell at strangers to stay home. People are going to do what they're going to do, and I can only control what I can control. I also just like to give people the benefit of the doubt and I truly believe that everyone is doing their part and trying their best and that's all we can do.

I downloaded Tik Tok yesterday to see what all the fuss is about. I've never regretted a decision more in my entire life (and I once cut my own bangs). Every girl on this app is doing the same dance to the same music and wearing the same outfit- high waisted sweatpants with a cropped sweatshirt. It was so creepy that for a second I thought I was watching an episode of Black Mirror. I literally was going to try to use my beloved hand sanitizer on my eyes after deleting it from my phone.

Amazon is a lifesaver. I've always known that, but now more than ever I need amazon and can't live without it. My kids started playing with their legos today so I went on amazon and ordered two huge new sets. I started running and don't like having to hold my phone to listen to music so I went online and ordered a fanny pack (hehehe) to hold my phone while I run. Zoey mentioned an author of chapter books in her classroom that she loves, so I went on and ordered the complete set. This is not how I usually parent. I don't normally just hear them say something they like and immediately go and order it, thus spoiling them rotten. But guess what? These are trying times and I'm doing what I can to survive. If legos is going to keep them busy and if a fanny pack is going to help me get in a run every day, then to amazon I go.

And finally, a note from the part of my brain that is currently enjoying a glass of wine. If I wasn't happily married to my hunk of a husband (I love you), I would be pining after Governor Baker. I don't know if it's the power, the suit, the smile, or what- but damn, I've got a crush on him. His haircut! His voice! He's literally telling me I have to be stuck at home with my kids for 6 more weeks and I'm looking at the screen like a teenage girl with a crush on her Teacher. I've officially lost it.



68 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Uvalde

When our kids were 2 and 3, we took them on vacation to Fort Lauderdale. On our first day there, they woke up before the sun and we went straight to the beach. They played in the sand for a while and

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page